Fill in your email and click the submit button to begin your download

PreviousNext < < Back to News

The UK government has added five more countries to its list of travel corridors, and says it will now update the list on a weekly basis “to reflect the shifting international health picture”.

From July 28 travellers from Estonia, Latvia, Slovakia, Slovenia and St Vincent and the Grenadines will no longer have to self-isolate on arrival into England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

The Scottish government has also confirmed that arrivals from the five nations will also be exempt from quarantine restrictions from the same date.

The government said the five additional destinations had been added “after reviewing the latest risk assessments”.

It added that border health measures remain subject to review every 28 days in England, and said that “We are prepared to respond rapidly if the health situation of a country deteriorates”.

Responding to the news Karen Dee, chief executive of the Airport Operators Association, said:

“Reviewing the exemptions to quarantine measures on a weekly basis represents good progress in the development of a risk-based border health system for international travel.

“The industry is working hard to ensure passenger health and safety while opening up routes to destinations across the world. However there are still many countries where travel is not possible, without a 14-day quarantine on return; we look forward to more routes opening up in the coming weeks, helping our beleaguered aviation sector to bounce back from this crisis.”

As was anticipated in our News Bulletin of 24th July both the UK and Scottish governments have removed Spain from the quarantine exemption list following a spike in new Covid-19 cases.

Source: BTN /